LeighBlackall
Occasional Contributor

Why don't my G Page Events show in the invited G Community's Events?

We have a G+ Page here: https://plus.google.com/u/0/108448425154207045768/posts

Note the Events, there should be 4 showing. As a manager, I can see all 4. Each of them invited the G+ Community "Digital Learning @ DSC". When I'm signed in as the Page manager viewing the Community, I can see all 4 events. When not, I only see one. Why?

They were all set up with the same settings, only difference being that I duplicated the 2nd-4th event from the 1st, and changed the dates.  

Accepted Solutions
QuanN
Tech Guru, IT Staff

Re: Why don't my G Page Events show in the invited G Community's Events?

Thanks for the video. I have tried to replicate this issue. I believe the "Hide guest list" event option causes this. I found that when the option is selected community members won't see the event in the community's Events page, but can still see it in their own Events page at:

https://plus.google.com/events

I don't know if this makes sense but I think when you choose to hide the guest list you're telling Google+ that you do not want individual invitees to know who else have been invited (like the Bcc email field). If the event were displayed on the Community's Events page the members would be able to work out that the entire community have been invited and this conflicts with the original intention of hiding the guest list. The Posts page still displays the event because it doesn't give any guest list information away.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

View solution in original post

Kimflowers
Contributor

I actually managed to replicate the issue without touching the "Hide Invite List" option.

I think it is directly related to the duplication of events. When I individually created the event and invited the community, it worked. When I duplicated the said event (and incited the community), it didn't show up (as demonstrated in Leigh's video).